The Competition Authority

Quick Links

What we do


What does the Antitrust Authority Do?


The Antitrust Authority is an independent professional authority working to protect the public from harms to competition and to promote competition, for the good of the public. What does this actually mean?

 The Authority is comprised of four departments: Economics, Legal, Intelligence and Investigations and Administration. The Authority relies on an array of tools provided by the law to carry out its various responsibilities:

Mergers: The Authority prevents the acquisition of one company by another if the acquisition is likely to harm competition or the public.

Restrictive Arrangements: The Authority prevents anti-competitive cooperation and agreements between businesses and is responsible for enforcing the legal prohibitions against making such agreements.

Monopolies: The Authority enforces antitrust legislation prohibiting the abuse of a monopolist position.

Concentration Groups: The Authority is authorized to declare a concentrated market with few active firms to be a concentration group, and to issue directives to these firms in order to prevent the erosion of competition or to stimulate competition in the market.

Government Advisor: The Authority advises government ministries on the competitive effects of measures the government seeks to implement.    

In addition, the Director General of the Antitrust Authority is the Chairman of the Committee to Reduce Concentration, which advises government ministries on the effects of allocations of public assets on the level of concentration in the economy.